Ascension

Based on factors of indeterminate origin
I ascended into a level just beyond this one.

It was not like a dream, but the jury was there,
weighing the evidence, deliberating for days,
weeks, without being able to arrive at a verdict.

Since nothing was certain, everything was possible.
I could get up anytime and walk out of the courtroom.
I could go to the aquarium. Yes, I would go there next.

The rooms were dark, except for the softly lit displays.
Each aquatic scene featured another version of myself,
just swimming around and around, going nowhere.

I was busy at work in each display, but nothing
was really that different when I was done.

Sometime I would peer through the thick glass.
I could almost see myself, but no, it is probably
just a shadowy trick of light — back to work.

Even though a great deal of time seemed to pass,
it was the same time now as when I had entered.
For whatever it was worth, I took note of that.

When I finally left the aquarium, it was as if I had
never been there, never done the work. Strangely,
this was quite liberating. I felt so much lighter,
and without hesitation ascended to the next level.

At this level, there are no levels, no jury, no fish.
Everything is equal. We can’t even imagine that.

Here, things really do appear and disappear simultaneously,
as if every television station is projecting their staggered
programs all at once, yet we understand each message.

That is, we somehow comprehend every subtle nuance
conveyed by the various versions of ourselves, but then
immediately forget all of it, or at least most of it.

If it wasn’t for this ability of ours to understand and forget,
we would likely burst out into fits of tears and laughter,
and nothing special would ever get done or undone.

From there, which is not anything like a place or location,
I stepped right through the door and out into my backyard.

I went over and sat down on the old swing. It was early
summer, just like today, and the temperature is very warm.

Two hummingbirds are busily competing for the nectar
in the feeder. Nothing has changed here either.

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, in the foothills of the Northern California Sierra Nevada Mountains. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ https://freetransliterations.wordpress.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

