Iago Ego

“For, sir,
It is as sure as you are Roderigo,
Were I the Moor, I would not be Iago:
In following him, I follow but myself;
Heaven is my judge, not I for love and duty,
But seeming so for my peculiar end:
For when my outward action doth demonstrate
The native act and figure of my heart
In complement extern, ’tis not long after
But I will wear my heart upon my sleeve
For daws to peck at: I am not what I am.”

~ Iago in “Othello”
W. Shakespeare

 

Iago-Ego is my name, for such cannot be other-
wise in this complementary game, yet would
you find some fault in me, I say look closer,
not in vain, I stand before you free of blame.

The one you strive to be without is merely
that which, fool or lout, reflects the schism
in your view of nature’s play, its non-dual way,
and though you rise to judge me well or ill,
“The play’s the thing”, or so says Will!

Twixt light and glooming dark, behold, our wry
imagination may assign unto itself a serendipity:
“I”, yet petition not for an accounting of its source,
for as this globe of earth rounds Sol in her course,
we spin in common ordinary ways her pleasure
sphere to happenstance reflect, as if in any single
beat of heart the meanest thing be raised, erect –
our tears no longer some desultory refrain, but
heard instead: a victor’s cry of “Gone beyond!”
from the open mouths of the grateful slain.

In nature’s tryst of light and dark, and even
as the curtains part, behold already here I am –
do not mistake me for a man, love hearts tell true –
‘tis not a thing the actors do, it’s you who script
the story’s plot, and in such nets a fish be caught!

In the transparency of Love’s own vibrant desire,
deeper still we may inquire, informed by such
a recognition that even in our waking dream,
the truth of us must at last and plain be seen:

the distance thought between ourselves is naught
but Love’s own coy design, that She may know
Herself this twined romance, and in such heady dance
unloose the veils adorning false division’s trance.

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, in the foothills of the Northern California Sierra Nevada Mountains. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ Free Transliterations of Spiritual Texts: http://freetransliterations1.blogspot.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

