One Heart

As the archaeologists descended further into the subterranean cave, they eventually came upon the primitive wall art from untold millennia ago that depicted scenes from the good old days. Yes, there we were, you and I, running across the open plain as if it was just yesterday. In reality, that’s what it was, is now, and ever will be. Here we are as definitive proof!

Time is a paradox that way. Even when we piloted the long starships gliding across the galaxy, it still seemed utterly miraculous — that we were melded together in this eternal dance, synchronized in our breathing, intoxicated by the intimacy of a sudden glance, a smile, a touch, a constant shared heartbeat — one heart appearing in the form of two, running across an open plain, drifting through the starry fields, phasing out of time at last, loving beyond description.

There was the time in the Reindeer Land when I found you huddled in the snow. A blue moon was rising above the forest, the calls of the hunters competed with the roaring winds, but I recognized you in your bundle of skins, you said my name, how did you know? I found my Beloved again that life, a life that we now remember well, because the northern wind is strong again, and we are cuddled here in our shelter.

The gates to the heavens are manifold. Together we have passed through them and returned again. This is what we do, it seems, though I have no clue why we come back here, except to find each other once more — yes, that must be the reason. I will follow and find you wherever you are, just as you do with me. Sometimes I pause to write your name on the walls of our cave, in the snow, in the stars – wherever we are I will praise and adore you, you who are the heart of me, the soul and radiant deity!

We come in every manner of shape – once you were a bird and I was a snake, once you were a leopard and I was a deer, once you were a peacock and I was your call, you called to yourself and I answered. In the gardens of the capricious gods, you were Gardenia and I was your fragrance, I was thorn and you the Rose, then I was Winter and you were Spring, and together we bid the Summer come forth, and together we turned to Autumn.

We wait here now for the storm to pass, singing the little songs we once knew, when the open plain was our garden of grace, and we held each other, whirling in place, and the full moon rose in the sky so bright, and we tumbled together throughout the long night, and the wild creatures howled and the night birds sang, and believe me I’d do it all over again if it came to that and maybe it will, my Darling Love, I’ll be with you still!

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, in the foothills of the Northern California Sierra Nevada Mountains. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ https://freetransliterations.wordpress.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Heart

  1. Tiger-Leaping-Fusion says:

    Such a truly beautiful tribute

Leave a Reply

