Too Much

If you’re like me, ideas that don’t mean a blessed thing
may appear for a while and just as soon disappear,
but even though I don’t get out much anymore
doesn’t mean I don’t travel, because I do.

Take today for example, and even if you happen to be
reading this much later, it might as well be today anyway.

Today I am occupying a chair. It is a good enough chair,
a good enough chair in which to be fully present
and yet totally unaccounted for.

I am seated, practicing that unaccountable presence,
just being pleasantly present to whomever imagines
they’re practicing presence, a mental fabrication per se,
one of those, you know, the kind that abruptly fizzle out
when you get another idea, like the ones you get
when you’re traveling without moving.

But imagine this, now I was moving through space itself,
moving through myself in the chair, moving through the wall,
and when I glanced back, no, it didn’t actually look like much,
not really worth a second thought, and I was about to be gone,
but whatever it was remained as it was, and since “Good-bye!”
was too good a word, well, I just said “Fare thee well!”

The world below was appearing in shades of green,
I couldn’t see the ground through the forest of trees
though each tree was its own idea, a perfect part
of the whole grand harmony swaying in formation.

When some look down, they can’t even see their feet,
but now I couldn’t see myself at all — not to worry,
all the trees will bend when the wild wind blows.

I was not alone, the invisible ones were humming,
I hummed along, then they said, “Take a good look,
take a good listen, there is no final destination,
so don’t make stuff up, just be willing at last
to stop talking, be willing to not say a word.”

This is how I got the idea: I looked and listened,
not saying a word, then it emerged from itself
spontaneously, an idea it was, it surely was,
but much more I can’t say, I’d better not,
I have already said too much.

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, and our lazy dog, Amos, in a lovely little mountain town called Paradise, situated on the ridge of the Little Grand Canyon, in the Northern California Sierra Nevadas. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ Free Transliterations of Spiritual Texts: http://freetransliterations1.blogspot.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

