Dawn of the Age of Anxiety

Today I sat in the supermarket parking lot watching the shoppers coming and going. Each was a self-contained universe unto themselves, only marginally interfacing with each other at the matrix of food gathering. Soon enough they were driving off into the thought galaxies where mentally fabricated worlds revolved around them — their own worlds, worlds they had constructed out of thought energy which then appeared solid and enduring because the power of projection held them in their orbits. At the center, each individual shone like their own sun, granting these many worlds the power to exist.

The implications of this all stretched forward and backward at the same time. For example, I remembered being a child at the local playground, and as I played my childhood games, there was no other world than that playground. When I went to school during the day, there was no other world than that school. Now as I sat in the supermarket parking lot, there was no other world but this lot, surrounded by the tall pines that thrive throughout this mountain town, and peopled by shoppers towing their own universes around with them as they came and went. Really, there are endless universes in this physical dimension alone. Just imagine all of those blinking in and out of existence throughout the infinite dimensions of creation!

Even here, within this seemingly self-contained world, who would imagine that there was so much going on beyond the parking lot? Just a few miles away, in fact, almost 200,000 people had to be evacuated from their homes due to a water emergency at the big dam nearby. Many had migrated for the duration up the mountain, and now were coming and going from the local SaveMart.

Likewise, as a child in the playground, I was shocked when one of my friends announced that the Russians had launched a satellite into outer space. Who were the Russians, and why was I supposed to be afraid now? They had never come near the playground, which was the same place it had been before I heard about them. Now, however, I was made aware that there was a much bigger place I was living in, and it was being threatened by some evil beings who wanted to drop A-bombs on our playground, homes, and school too.

Soon we were preparing for that eventuality, which might happen any day. We listened for the air raid sirens and practiced the special procedures, which involved getting down under our little desks and covering our eyes and ears in lieu of the atomic blast. Soon I was walking through a post-apocalyptic landscape in my dreams at night, with the local playground and school gone up in radioactive flames, just like they portrayed on the Audio-Video presentations in the school auditorium.

Yes, now I knew that there was a world beyond the playground, and even though I could not see it, I knew it was trying to kill me. That’s what I was led to believe, and why should I doubt it? Of course this was disturbing, but then I went back to play, and forgot all about it until the night, and the dreams.

I did not realize it at the time, but each of my playmates also lived in their own thought universes, and the only real interface was the school and playground, which were now being threatened by the bad Commie Russians, who wanted to destroy our worlds for some incomprehensible reason, and now had a satellite, a “Sputnik”, floating over us in outer space, and maybe as it passed over our playground it would drop the Big One.

Now all of our thought universes were infected by this fear, but because our thoughts did not stand still, but continued weaving mental constructs like busy little spiders, new planets were created, populated by Davy Crockett and Wyatt Earp, Superman and Saturday Matinees at the Balboa Theater, and then I heard that San Francisco was going to get its own major league baseball team — the Giants. Surely enough, I was about to find a new hero who would transcend the Russians and their evil thought schemes that haunted me at night. His name was Willie Mays, and boy could he swing a bat!

 

dreams

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, in the foothills of the Northern California Sierra Nevada Mountains. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ Free Transliterations of Spiritual Texts: http://freetransliterations1.blogspot.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dawn of the Age of Anxiety

  1. Hugh says:

    Thanks for writing, Bob. At times I feel overwhelmed by the depth of my feeling that another is an entire universe – because when a universe of a person passes away, I do not what happens to that universe…but I do know from experience and feeling that all is Love – and so, I can only imagine: what would Love do to a universe when the body dies – the answer, whatever it is, must be Love’s action, must it not?

    • Bob OHearn says:

      Nothing passes away, but simply changes frequencies. Everything is always changing, there is no death. And yes, love is the foundation, love projects itself out, and love receives itself back.

Leave a Reply

