The Eye With Which God Sees Me

Somehow one night while I slept, my eyelids disappeared and now I must look at everything, even the insane TV program that keeps repeating over and over again. I go outside but I am still inside my head. In there is the whole world, and there is no getting out. Somehow, I am already out, but this magic is not a trick one can do. We can only awake without eyelids, and see everything as if for the first time — that vividly!

In the meanwhile, all my friends whom I don’t really know keep rushing at me with petitions to change the reality. How lucky they are — they can close their eyes and see only the brief echo of the light that I must endure as long as I am standing here, beneath this street light that never even blinks. Be careful when you change reality — you may become nostalgic for the reality you left behind!

When the street light suddenly goes dark, all my other friends who were peacefully resting wake up and gather in an orderly line to show me what they look like now. Although I might have guessed, one can’t be sure until their own eyelids vanish and then there is no doubt at all. They all looked like ponies that had stepped off the carousel and were now wandering at the edge of the outer carnival, the same place we are now, inside the head of some being who loves us despite what we don’t see, and so can never know.

Because of the law of cause and effect, all of this funny business is simply the display of that particular being, perhaps to amuse itself in the cold winter of consciousness, where a little warmth is welcomed, and even small laughter is appreciated. Because we were created in its image, it has no eyelids either, and so must toss and turn within its own head, enduring all the insane thoughts that keep repeating again and again, like one of those TV programs.

Just when you believe that you have reached the end, and wearily flop across the finish line, you realize that there is no line, nor end. It goes on and on, and there is no place where you can stop and close your eyes. Rather, because awareness and experience are not separate, these eyes must grow larger and larger with each passing event in the chain of dependent arising. As they do we see more and more, even without the blessed eyelids, without even those temporary eyes we were given so that the aforementioned being could appreciate its own design!

eye-of-the-beholder

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, in the foothills of the Northern California Sierra Nevada Mountains. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ Free Transliterations of Spiritual Texts: http://freetransliterations1.blogspot.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

