Coffee Is Good

Tonight they came and gathered around me while I slept. As if on cue, they all leaned down, but no comments were exchanged (at least none of which I was aware). The mood was formal, no funny business tonight. I once may have seized the opportunity to attempt some lighthearted conversation. Even small talk has its value. However, with all that is going on in the global asylum today, what could anyone say that would be clarifying?

If I were a samurai dying on the battlefield, the invisible ones might draw close to hear my final haiku, but more often than not, words themselves tend to be superfluous. Either that, or they are like the partially chewed shards of hard biscuits my blind dog leaves behind on the kitchen floor as a surprise for my bare feet. In any case, talk is not why they are here. There are much more efficient ways to make a point.

From what I can tell, we all arrived at about the same time, but with different things to do. I do what I do, they do what they do. It is nothing special, but it does make a difference when you consider that each of us has an essential role to play. Yes, we each have a unique contribution to make just by being ourselves — a simple-enough proposition which is nevertheless utterly necessary for everything to be what it is truly wanting to be.

We are like featured actors in that respect, but there are so many overlapping productions going on that one might expect some sort of ensuing chaos on the stage. It might seem as if people would be haphazardly running into each other, or awkwardly tripping over props, but that doesn’t happen. There is an amazing choreography behind the various random-seeming events that is hard to describe, so I will just leave it at that for now. Perhaps the words will come to me later, when I awaken and have my coffee. Coffee is good. Although we might take it for granted, in the scheme of things, even making coffee is a stupendous feat!

68664008-cool-coffee-cup-wallpapers

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, in the foothills of the Northern California Sierra Nevada Mountains. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ Free Transliterations of Spiritual Texts: http://freetransliterations1.blogspot.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

