Virtuality

I talk to people I’ve never seen.
Perhaps a photo — is it really them,
or how they looked once upon a time?
No matter, we are connected by a bond
formed in cyberspace, the same place
we meet now, in this digital assembly
of words and spaces that indifferently
bring flowers to mind, or tears and sadness,
and awed wonder, quick smiles, lovable animals,
or perhaps even a simmering outrage at what
the world has become, right before our eyes —
an ocean strewn with plastic refuse,
food, air, farms and forests poisoned,
and then the bloodied children’s bodies,
all flowering life suddenly interrupted,
souls snatched away, now lifted up
in some ruined ghostly city
before an anonymous heartless camera,
offerings on the altar of collective futility
for some momentary political advantage
that will mean nothing the next day.
In the background, some lonely music
drifts and weaves a sorrowful lament,
while a mother sets her rifle down
and pauses for some tea.

aleppo-3

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, in the foothills of the Northern California Sierra Nevada Mountains. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ Free Transliterations of Spiritual Texts: http://freetransliterations1.blogspot.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Virtuality

  1. Sky McCain says:

    Warding off Despair

    “The Power That Preserves” Book Three of Thomas Covenant the Unbeliever by
    Stephen R. Donaldson October, 1978

    “Further, I tell you that there is no blame for us in the wisdom or folly, victory or defeat, of the way we have elected to defend the Land. We are not the Creators of the Earth. Its final end is not on our heads. We are creations, like the Land itself. We are accountable for nothing but the purity of our service. When we have given our best wisdom and our utterest strength to the defence of the Land, then no voice can raise accusation against us. Life or death, good or ill – victory or destruction – we are not required to solve these riddles. Let the Creator answer for the doom of his creation.”
    Pg. 48

    In his Thomas Covenant series, Stephen Donaldson depicts the result of despair; how the dark power uses this powerful energy to its advantage and destroys the entity who falls prey to despair.
    The passage above has helped me many times to move through the realization you so poignantly reveal and save myself from despair. I wonder sometimes how I can channel the loving energy of Gaia out of the suffering diffused all around us. I think Thich Nhat Hanh understands:

    “Please call me by my true names,
    so I can hear all my cries and laughter at once,
    so I can see that my joy and pain are one.
    Please call me by my true names,
    so I can wake up
    and the door of my heart
    could be left open,
    the door of compassion.”

    Thanks for sharing.

    Be well,

    Sky

Leave a Reply

