Suchness

If someone were to ask, would I want a better body – more youthful, healthy, supple, and virile – I would say No.

And if someone asked, would I want a better spouse – more appealing, yielding, wise, and loving — I would say No.

And again, if someone were to ask, do I want more possessions, riches, toys, or objects of distraction, I would say No.

And if someone then asked, would I want more fame, influence, power, or control, I would say No.

And if I were asked, do I want more knowledge and experience, either mundane or spiritual, I would say No.

And yet again, if I were asked, would I want more truth, justice, freedom, or wisdom, I would say No.

And finally, if sincerely asked, would I want to be elsewhere — in a higher dimension, celestial heaven, or silent nirvana — I would say No.

Truly, being nothing myself, what benefit would accrue to a quicksilver structure in consciousness that creates the momentary mirage of a separate self?

What willfulness spawned by hope or fear can even be conjured by such a shadowy phantom, except perhaps as the chameleon charades of a confident mimic?

Conversely, being everything myself, what more can be added to infinity?

Consider the fate of a matchstick tossed into a towering bonfire, or a candle’s meager flicker of flame when held up to the shine of the sun at high noon.

Furthermore, being both nowhere and everywhere simultaneously, what advantage would be gained from occupying any location exclusively?

On what theatrical stage could self and other perform their poignant dance of duality and not be mistaken for a comedy routine?

Since the three times of past, present, and future are essentially no different than a swiftly vanishing dream or evaporating illusion, on what shifting shore could I plant a flag of personal intent?

Given all of that, I still take responsibility for this form, and support it with proper care and life direction.

I treasure my Mate, forever grateful for this intimacy, and serve her as myself, with unconditional loving.

I manage whatever gifts with which I have been blessed by applying considerate discretion and appropriate attention to thought, word, and deed.

I participate with a community of friends who are committed to the conscious process of liberation and compassionate service to all.

I study the legacy and pathways of wisdom as transmitted by the heroes and heroines.

I joyfully celebrate the innate freedom and inherent bliss of our true nature, inseparable from the ever-expanding revelation of collective Divinity.

I recognize the ineffable streaming light that miraculously energizes and illumines every frequency and dimension as Source Energy Itself, beyond all human comprehension.

Having said that, I will say this:

By the grace of a gnosis born of humble inspection, it may be seen directly that the grand totality of the universal display, regarded by seers as the great perfection, is not other than a mental fabrication, a shimmering holographic projection of mind, an arbitrary interpretation on perception.

Moreover, the arising of any conceptual formation, emotional reactivity, memory association, cognition of experience, consciousness itself, spontaneously self-liberates when recognized as mere transient and non-binding expressions of limitless innocent emptiness.

In seeing through and releasing attention’s fixation on any fantasy narrative of a solid and independent self and enduring phenomenal world (even those subtle story lines that rule me without my knowledge or consent, even the ones that break my heart), the Unspeakable shines forth in unsurpassed radiance.

Because there is nothing outside of it, it promises no escape, offers no strategic advantage, nor does an evolving appreciation of it grant any exemption from the raw messiness of life and relations.

It is neither a consolation for pain and suffering, an exaltation of transcendence, nor reward for accomplished dreaming.

Beyond perception or conception, it is that which makes awareness possible.

What it is, simply is. There is a word: Suchness.

 

smiley

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, and our lazy dog, Amos, in a lovely little mountain town called Paradise, situated on the ridge of the Little Grand Canyon, in the Northern California Sierra Nevadas. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ Free Transliterations of Spiritual Texts: http://freetransliterations1.blogspot.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Mystic Poetry, Nonduality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Suchness

  1. Sky McCain says:

    Welcome back, Bob. Your testimony reminds me of the great Hsin Hsin Ming that contains so much of what you have contributed here. Especially:

    “To live in the Great Way is neither easy nor difficult,
    but those with limited views and fearful and irresolute:
    the faster they hurry, the slower they go,
    and clinging (attachment) cannot be limited;
    even to be attached to the idea of enlightenment
    is to go astray.”

    After all, one would surely be attracted to a poem that begins:

    “The Great Way is not difficult for those who have no preferences.”

    Seasons Greetings,

    Sky

  2. “Because there is nothing outside of it, it promises no escape, offers no strategic advantage, nor does an evolving appreciation of it grant any exemption from the raw messiness of life and relations.”

    Here’s a toast to life, to raising the glass and tossing back the whole glorious mess, Worm and all! And to your good health my friend!

    • Bob OHearn says:

      Yes, the whole glorious mess! Thank you, Brother!

      “Keep very quiet and watch what comes to the surface of the mind. Reject the known, welcome the so far unknown and reject it in its turn. Thus you come to a state in which there is no knowledge, only being, in which being itself is knowledge. To know by being is direct knowledge. It is based on the identity of the seer and the seen. Indirect knowledge is based on sensation and memory, on proximity of the perceiver and his percept, confined with the contrast between the two. The same with happiness. Usually you have to be sad to know gladness and glad to know sadness. True happiness is uncaused and this cannot disappear for lack of stimulation. It is not the opposite of sorrow, it includes all sorrow and suffering.”

      ~Sri Nisargadatta

  3. Bob OHearn says:

    “There is nobody such as ‘I’ to be discovered.
    By searching and eliminating
    all the elements and principles in nature,
    and in man, there is no ‘I’ found remaining at all.”

    “When the ‘me’ is gone,
    the concept of being a seeker,
    the sense of doing something
    and the idea of something to be attained are also gone.
    Paramatman is uncovered without doing anything about it.
    If you examine all of your thoughts,
    you will find there is no ‘I’ at all.”

    “The sense of ‘I’ was only imagined.”

    “A person was deceiving himself
    and calling himself as some particular entity,
    but once the sense of ‘me’ goes, then ‘I’,
    ‘Who am I?,’ and ‘I Am That’ also all go away.”

    “Golden is the day for a man
    when his conceptual images about himself die away.”

    “Do not become that person projected by your imagination.
    It is not that ‘I’ should become Brahman,
    but that the ‘I’ should be dead.
    Actually, the ‘I’ is itself an illusory imagined entity.
    ‘I’ is the essence of what is called sin.”

    “What is there in Reality that says ‘I’?
    This is the imagined individual.
    The body does not only contain that which says ‘I,’
    there is blood, flesh, semen, and all other material.
    However, the entity that is saying ‘I’ is not really there.”

    “Illusion is only visible to the imagination.
    If you have no imagination,
    the Illusion does not do anything.”

    “That which is emotional, imagination,
    and conception is all objective.
    As is the concept, or imagination, so is the world.
    It is all conceptual.”

    “When you expect that Consciousness should give it an expression,
    Consciousness itself disappears.
    There is nothing near ‘That’.
    Nothing is there, which means that there is nothing near,
    there is only ‘Wordless Non-Existence,’ stillness.
    Where there are two, there can be experience.
    Where there is only one,
    who can have experience, and of what?”

    “After Liberation, what is remaining is flawless Brahman.
    Now what exists is not in the realm of experience,
    because without our going to meet it, it is as it is,
    without trying to remember it.
    It is not something objective that can be remembered.
    Memory disappears together with forgetfulness.
    It is beyond truth and untruth.
    It is not truth, and it is not untruth.
    ‘That’ which is, is.
    What ‘That’ is, cannot be told.
    Mind and intellect do not reach there.
    Words cannot express it.”

    – Sri Siddharameshwar Maharaj

  4. Bob OHearn says:

    Our inherently present wakefulness is not something we’ll find in the future, nor something we had in the past. It’s present ‘right now’. And it’s something that we don’t have to accept or reject. Don’t do anything about it: don’t adopt it, don’t avoid it, and don’t entertain any hope or fear about it, don’t try to change it or alter it or improve it in any way. It is not necessary at all.

    Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche

Leave a Reply

