Love Talk

 
I came here
seeking lovers and friends
with whom to share this Mystery,
to wonder and touch and drown in it.
 
All are the Beloved,
at heart we are the same —
this is what the heart knows,
all the rest is the play of change.
 
Having said that,
what more is there to say?
 
Just be a benefit to everyone,
to all the beings you meet each day!
 
That said, let me say this:
 
Our beauty makes me weep.
Our efforts to love make me weep.
 
Our failure to love makes me weep.
Love makes me weep.
 
I weep for love, and so
what else is there to say?
 
Having said that, let me say
I find all of us irresistible, even
the endearing little names we wear
to distinguish ourselves from ourselves.
 
Without thinking any special thought,
without studying, meditating, or twisting
the body into some pretzel-like pose, and
without frightening each other with myths
about the past or fantasies about the future,
we can crack open the egg-shell of ignorance
by simply recognizing that love is all that matters.
 
When we understand that, we also realize
love is not the result of any cause, nor is it
the product of any charmed condition.
 
It’s the timeless source of all creation.
 
Having said that,
I can laugh, even as I weep,
because I really don’t know love at all,
but only love’s reflection in the looking glass.
 
Love conquers all, but to itself, is it even love?
 
Love talk is all around us — if we listen
we can hear it carried on the wind,
embedded in the shine of sun,
sweetly sung in birdland.
 
The first love song we heard
was our mother’s heartbeat –
 
no wonder some call God
the Divine Mother!
 
When we call on God
we are calling on love.
 
It’s love that calls and answers.
 
It’s the bright lamp dispelling the despair
of taking ourselves and our thoughts too seriously.
 
Love’s crashing wave will shatter the silence,
 
Love’s certain calamity will break every heart,
 
Love’s infinite expansion will exceed every boundary,
 
Love’s unleashed ardor will raise up the dead.
 
Where all of our knowing and wanting end,
love is standing, shining, smiling:
 
“Welcome Home my beloved heart,
my true and only Self!”

 

unconditional-love1

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, and our lazy dog, Amos, in a lovely little mountain town called Paradise, situated on the ridge of the Little Grand Canyon, in the Northern California Sierra Nevadas. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ Free Transliterations of Spiritual Texts: http://freetransliterations1.blogspot.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Mystic Poetry, Nonduality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Talk

  1. Alisha says:

    you are miles away , I have never seen or meet you but still when I think of you my heart fill with love and I weep brother…in love physical presence is not necessary …love is love…I have brother like you who is sharing his experience, knowledge via blog, FB..there is so much to learn from you brother…love is above everything…THANK YOU SO MUCH BROTHER BOB for sharing such a wonderful poem…

Leave a Reply

