Softly Laughing

All throughout this dark and windy night
everything is tipsy and translucent.

Light is swaying drunkenly
between the visible and invisible.

I wonder if perhaps it’s only me, wobbling
on my feet, swaying to some spirit beat, listening
to soft laughter echoing through the midnight air.

There is no apparent source for this muffled mirth,
and so it must be my wine-soaked imagination.

Here we are tonight, face to face in our happy place,
smiling without reason like two daring dreamers, sharing
the same intriguing dream of soft and distant laughter.

Now look, Love, can’t you see –
what pours through you swoons in me!

Our blood runs through incandescent arteries
that connect the planets, moons, and stars
with sweet and liquid laughter, laughter
flowing through our pulsing veins
like a rich and heady wine.

I wonder how this can be –
the invisible pouring into visibility.

So entrancing is this unknown laughter
that we have lost our way back
to the sobriety of the known.

I wave my empty glass for more while
you look on, barely hiding your laughter.

The little drops of wine I’ve left behind
to mark our way have one by one evaporated –
ascending silently in the air throughout this
deepening dark and wind-wrought night
as I scribble these words and phrases.

Having things be visible or not
now goes the way of lovely wine drops,
drips of galaxies – all laughing softly in the air,
having never known sobriety, having
never set foot there.

I wonder how this can be:

I set out at dusk to discover the One
whose laughter lingers in the air, not knowing
that it was You and I swaying between visible
and invisible, intoxicated by the light of night,
writing all of our beautiful lines on water,
and together, ever so softly laughing.

windy night

About Bob OHearn

My name is Bob O'Hearn, and I live with my Beloved Mate, Mazie, in the foothills of the Northern California Sierra Nevada Mountains. I have several other sites you may enjoy: Photo Gallery: http://www.pbase.com/1heart Essays on the Conscious Process: http://theconsciousprocess.wordpress.com/ Poetry and Prosetry: https://feelingtoinfinity.wordpress.com/ Writings from selected Western Mystics, Classic and Modern: https://westernmystics.wordpress.com/ https://freetransliterations.wordpress.com/ Wisdom of a Spirit Guide: https://spiritguidesparrow.wordpress.com/ Thank You!
This entry was posted in Mystic Poetry, Nonduality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Softly Laughing

  1. mazielane says:

    Exquisitely worded and oh so moving.

  2. marcelvuijst says:

    Breath taking Brother, thank you for sharing!

    “In your light I learn how to love. In your beauty, how to make poems. You dance inside my chest where no-one sees you, but sometimes I do, and that sight becomes this art.”
    ~Rumi

    😉

  3. gayla says:

    Wonderful words where can I find more teachings?

    • Bob OHearn says:

      Enlightenment absorbs this universe of qualities.
      When that merging occurs, there is nothing
      but God. This is the only doctrine.

      There is no word for it, no mind
      to understand it with, no categories
      of transcendence or non-transcendence,
      no vow of silence, no mystical attitude.

      There is no Shiva and no Shakti
      in enlightenment, and if there is something
      that remains, that whatever-it-is
      is the only teaching.

      ~Lal Dev

Leave a Reply

